close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Thursday Evening Book Discussion

A Kind of Freedom by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

2018-11-08 19:30:00 2018-11-08 20:30:00 America/Chicago Thursday Evening Book Discussion Des Plaines Public Library

Thursday, November 08
7:30pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2018-11-08 19:30:00 2018-11-08 20:30:00 America/Chicago Thursday Evening Book Discussion Des Plaines Public Library

Readers Services Assistant Joel Sawyer will lead a discussion on A Kind of Freedom By Margaret Wilkerson Sexton in Meeting Room C on the first floor. Books are available one month prior at the Readers Services Desk on the third floor.

A Kind of Freedom by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Evelyn, a Creole woman living in New Orleans during World War II, encounters a difficult, life-changing decision based on a choice between love or family. Racially divisive issues carry on to her daughter's generation and to the generation after that, but are countered with notes of poignancy and redemption: creating an illuminating view of the American South in the last 75 years.

TAGS: | Book Discussion |

Des Plaines Public Library

help@dppl.org
Phone: (847) 827-5551
Fax: (847) 827-7974

Hours
Mon, Mar 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Mar 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Mar 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Mar 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Mar 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Sat, Mar 23 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 24 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About

The 1501 Ellinwood Street library building is the realization of a longheld dream of the library board, staff and community partners. Located in the heart of downtown Des Plaines, the four story, 82,000 square foot building represents the community's commitment to reading, lifelong learning, and a center for family activities. A grand central staircase and large windows provide a wealth of natural light and illuminate the building at night.

Upcoming events

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Mar 25, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sat, Mar 30, 11:00am - 12:30pm
This program shares perspectives on financial concerns facing women who are getting ready for or have recently transitioned to retirement.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sun, Mar 31, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
The Petra van Nuis Trio performs seasonal songs of birds, flowers and rebirth.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Apr 01, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Mon, Apr 01, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
This educational seminar will get you up to speed on what Medicare covers, what it doesn't and your potential out of pocket exposure.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Wed, Apr 03, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Women face unique financial circumstances. A strong financial strategy is vital.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Apr 08, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Wed, Apr 10, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
In this lecture, editor Kaylynn Hills will describe the different types of editing; what they are used for, and how to tell which type your manuscript or project needs.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Fri, Apr 12, 6:30pm - 8:45pm
A free screening of the independent film BlacKkKlansman.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sat, Apr 13, 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Work Smart is designed to help women negotiate for a new job, raise or promotion.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sun, Apr 14, 1:30pm - 3:45pm
A free screening of the feature film Green Book

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Apr 15, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library
Sun, Apr 21, All day
Library closed

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Apr 22, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Thu, Apr 25, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Discover a wealth of helpful tools plus instruction for practical uses.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sat, Apr 27, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Author/editor Barbara Barnett will demystify Scrivener, a powerful word processing program, while demonstrating its most essential features in this entertaining multimedia talk.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, Apr 29, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Wed, May 01, 7:00pm - 8:15pm
TBA
Registration opens Wednesday, April 10 2019 at 9:00am

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Fri, May 03, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Test your knowledge of things you should have learned in school while socializing with new or old friends!
Registration opens Monday, April 1 2019 at 9:00am

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Sun, May 05, 1:30pm - 4:00pm
A free screening of a feature length film.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, May 06, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room B/C
Wed, May 08, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Author, actor and audiobook narrator D.M. Pirrone brings an actor's perspective to the fine art of dialogue.

Des Plaines Public Library - Meeting Room C
Sat, May 11, 9:00am - 12:00pm
Alliance for Immigrant Neighbors (AIN) is offering FREE legal consultations on immigration matters for Des Plaines residents.

Des Plaines Public Library - 4th Floor Forum
Mon, May 13, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Registration is on January 21, 6:00-8:30 pm in The Forum. There are 18 classes: January 28 - May 20. Classes meet 6:00-8:30 pm.